Kinglake parishioner who helped rebuild after Black Saturday among Anglicans honoured

Australia Day 2020 Honours List released

By Mark Brolly

January 29 2020A parishioner who hand-crafted furniture for the new St Peter’s Memorial Anglican Church in Kinglake from the remains of timber from the old church destroyed in the Black Saturday bushfires 11 years ago, a board member of the Brotherhood of St Laurence who has been active in the dioceses of Melbourne and Wangaratta, a leading businessman who chaired World Vision Australia and was a parishioner of Glen Waverley Anglican Church (GWAC) for 15 years and a former university college warden and chaplain now living in Moe are among Anglicans recognised in the Australia Day Honours this year.

Mr Peter Crook was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to the community of Kinglake and to veterans and their families.

Senior Warden and member of the parish council of Whittlesea Kinglake Anglican Church since 2007, Mr Crook was fundraising coordinator for the new St Peter’s at Kinglake, for which he used his skills to create a physical link with the old church.

Associate Professor Cecily Jane Freemantle of Mansfield was awarded an OAM for service to medical research, particularly to population health.

A board member of the Brotherhood since 2017, Professor Freemantle has been a member of the Reconciliation Action Plan Committee of St Paul’s Cathedral and was a member of Archbishop Philip Freier’s Indigenous Policy Steering Committee from 2010-13.

An examining chaplain, she has chaired Wangaratta’s Bishopric Election Board since last year, with Archdeacon Clarence Bester to be consecrated and installed as 11th Bishop of Wangaratta on the weekend of 22-23 February. Professor Freemantle has been a member of Wangaratta Synod since 2016, a member of Wangaratta’s Safe Churches Steering Committee and is Rector’s Warden and a parish council member of the Anglican Parish of Mansfield. From 2002-07, she was an examining chaplain in Western Australia.

Mr George Savvides of Mount Martha, a former Managing Director of Medibank Private, was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to the community, to charitable groups and to business.

He chaired World Vision Australia from 2012-17, served on its board from 2000-17 and was an Executive Committee and Board Member of World Vision International from 2001-10.

From 1993-2008, he was a parishioner of GWAC and has been a Patron of Arrow Leadership Australia, a Christian provider of training for leaders, since 2016. He now chairs New Peninsula Baptist Church at Mount Martha.

The Revd Canon Dr John Laurence Morgan, a former Ecumenical Chaplain at Melbourne University who for 30 years until 2012 was Warden of St John’s College at the University of Queensland, was appointed an AM for significant service to education and to the Anglican Church of Australia.

Now Associate Priest of the Anglican Parish of Moe-Newborough, Dr Morgan was a Canon of St John’s Cathedral Brisbane for 26 years and a member of the Cathedral Completion Management Committee. He also served as an Examining Chaplain, as a member of the finance committee for the Diocese of Brisbane and as Secretary of the Social Responsibilities Commission.

From 1969-76, he was Chaplain at Oriel College Oxford and in recent years had been Associate Priest of St Clement’s Cambridge.

Ms Janine Sargeant of Balmain NSW, a Life Governor and Benefactor of Trinity College at Melbourne University, received her AM for significant service to medical administration through a range of roles.

She has been CEO of the Australasian Association of Nuclear Medicine Specialists since 1995 and Executive Officer (part-time) of the Australian Association of Consultant Physicians since 2006.

Mrs Elisabeth Margaret Newman of Middle Park, a member of Christ Church St Kilda, received an Honorary AM for significant service to women at the national and international level.

She has been Victorian President of the National Council of Women since 2017 and was Vice-President of the International Council of Women from 2012-18.

Other OAMs awarded to Victorian Anglicans or people associated with the Anglican Church were to Mr Brian Leslie Allen of Rosebud, who was active at St Paul’s Anglican Church in Boronia from 1974-2011, for service to education in developing countries and to the community; Ms Patricia L. Burke of Brighton, State Manager for Victoria and Tasmania for Philanthropy Australia and a former deputy chair of Firbank Grammar School, for service to the community through charitable organisations;  Mr Paul Matthew Freestone of Keilor Village, a supporter of an Anglican Church project providing relocatable housing in Papua New Guinea, for service to the road transport industry and to the community; Mrs Vivienne Julie Harkness of Hawthorn, a parishioner of Holy Trinity Kew and former National Director of Red Nose, for service to community health; Mr Donald Leslie Harrison of Belmont, a volunteer at Christ Church Geelong, for service to the community through emergency response organisations; Mr Neil Laurence Hirt of West Ulverstone in Tasmania – who served in the Victorian parishes of Gisborne, Kyneton, St George’s Malvern, St Bartholomew’s Burnley, St John’s Toorak and St Columba’s Aspendale before moving to the Apple Isle in 2014 – for service to the community; Mrs Caroline Johnston of Toorak, a member of the Organ Restoration Fundraising Committee at St John’s Toorak in the 1990s, for service to the community; Mr James Rodham Lindsay of Gisborne, Assistant Organist at the Anglican Parish of Gisborne and a former pilot with New Guinea Missionary Aviation Fellowships, for service to the community of the Macedon Ranges; Mr Nigel James Porteous of South Yarra, a Master Mariner, Vice-Chairman of the Mission to Seafarers in Victoria since 2000 and Chair of the Seafarers’ Annual Church Service, for service to the community and to the shipping transport industry; Mr Reginald Norman Smith of Glen Iris, a board member of Anglicare Victoria from 1997-2000, for service to youth through intercultural programs; Mrs Judith Anne Speedy of Mirboo North, treasurer of the Anglican church there, for service to the community of Mirboo North; and Mrs Elizabeth Wilson of Lang Lang, inaugural organiser of the flower committee of St John’s Anglican Church for 10 years, for service to the community of Lang Lang.